Amble’s Ramble

This hot weather may not suit everyone but I know who (or what ) loves this kind of weather, tomatoes!  Grass loves cloudy, rainy, cool weather but tomatoes really dig the heat. Especially the warm overnights. This is no joke, my plants have grown between 4″ to 9″ in the past four days. Check them out:

photo 1 (3)

A few of the plants are even beginning to set a few tomatoes.  This seems a little early for this considering a few of those are almost tennis ball size. I’m not used to picking ripe tomatoes until late July at the earliest with August being my primary harvest month. I certainly won’t mind an early BLT though. Notice there is no fence around my garden. The recent rains have kept the resident deer population hidden in the woods. If the water source runs out for them they will not hesitate to cruise our neighborhood in search for something tasty and moist like my tomatoes. That’s when the fence goes up.

photo 2 (3)

Lastly, my experiment using landscape cloth and mulch to fight weeds seems to be working. I’m really happy with the way the plants are growing and I haven’t pulled a single weed …so far. Stay tuned for another garden update in a few weeks.

There are no comments on this post.

Leave a Reply

