Amble’s Ramble

I can’t think of anything that annoys me more than strong winds on a day when I want to be outdoors. I guess freezing rain and sleet may rival that thought but you get where I’m going…

Today would be a beautiful day, almost perfect, considering it’s the third day of a long weekend. Temperatures are in the upper 80s and the sky is filled with sunshine. Imagine what you could do with a day like this. It’s the kind of day made for the great outdoors …then this happens:

blog

Winds out of the south gusting to almost 30 MPH! That means area lakes will have waves too big for me to get out. Motorcycle riding will still be OK but those occasional side gusts make for less than desirable conditions. Pedal bikes suffer when it’s time to turn INTO the stiff breeze …imagine a steep uphill climb facing a 20 to 25 MPH wind! I’m too old for that. Even just sitting in your backyard holding a conversation can be taxing when that sudden gust cuts off a story in mid-sentence. I’m sure you can add to this list.

I really didn’t mean to go on at length about this but I’m sure a few of you can relate. After a long string of GREAT days we had to finish this weekend with a semi clunker of a day all because of a pesky breeze.

I wonder if Brad Stephens will put me on the “Rant” tonight?

 

There are no comments on this post.

Leave a Reply

