Archive for June 16th, 2017

Amble’s Ramble
June 16, 2017

I knew it was coming but I was hopeful the recent rains would delay what has become an annual event. Today was the first day our neighborhood deer discovered my garden. They only had a light snack so my plants will make it but I knew if I ignored the problem some of my plants would be nibbled to the ground by Father’s Day. 

 

You can see from those photos the plants were lightly trimmed. Obviously I don’t know what goes on inside the brain of our Shawnee, Kansas deer herd but I did hear once that they will do this if the weather is dry. That’s why after a wet May and the recent rains I thought my garden would be safe. Not so. Over the years I’ve also learned that once the buffet is discovered and word gets out the remaining plants will be consumed in one or two nights.

 In the past I’ve tried bars of soap, after shave  and even a commercial bottle of the nastiest smelling stuff on the planet. Nothing works for the deer in my neighborhood. Tired of the fight I broke down and bought some material which is the only thing that will keep my plants alive through the growing season.

 I call it my $100 dollar fence to protect $5 worth of tomatoes.

Suchan Says: Heat and Storms
June 16, 2017

The bulk of our Friday will look a lot like yesterday with sunny skies and hot temperatures into the low 90s.  Storms enter the forecast by the second half of the evening forecast into the first half of the overnight.

I expect to see storm initiate in Nebraska, northwest Missouri and Iowa then move southeast given steering currents in place.  It’s likely an organized bowing cluster or line of storms will emerge capable of damaging wind gusts along with some large hail.   The Storm Prediction Center has put the KC metro and areas to the north under an “enhanced risk” of severe storms with a slight risk to the south.

rpm

risk.jpg

Saturday will again bring some sunshine to the area along with even hotter temperatures into the mid 90s.  It will feel like it’s 102 – 108 when you factor in the humidity and a Heat Advisory is in effect because of this from noon to 7pm.

Storms Saturday should develop sooner in the day.  Essentially looking at 4pm – midnight as the window for possible storms.  There will be yet another severe storm risk too with damaging winds and large hail the primary hazards.

Father’s Day Sunday looks amazing!

heat.jpg

Chris Suchan
KCTV5 Meteorologist